World Cup U20 is set to be held next year in Indonesia with eleven teams already qualified, surprisingly there are no big Latino teams such as Spain, Portugal and Mexico.

After the world pandemic, World Cup U20 which was cancelled in 2021, is bound to be on schedule again in May - June 2023. The host in 2021, Indonesia, remains to keep his right to stage this competition which was once called FIFA World Youth Championship prior to 2007. Earlier in September, the official mascot was reportedly launched, with the name ‘Bacuya’, the Javanese rhinoceros. Previously, the tournament’s logo was launched on August, 17, the same day as the host’s independence day, by FIFA.

So far there have been eleven teams securing their spots in the final rounds. Those are five teams from UEFA, four from CONCACAF, and two from OFC. Apart from the host, there will be 12 berths left for AFC, CAF and CONMEBOL with four places each. Those will be decided on February and March 2023.

UEFA was the first to complete their qualification through EURO U19 in 2022. The tournament which was staged in Slovakia last summer resulted the four teams reaching semi final, England, France, Israel and Italy, sealing the berth automatically. Another one spot was determined through a playoff between the teams sitting third at the group stage, Slovakia and Austria. The former eventually clinched the last spot by a 1-0 win. Surprisingly, the champions of 1999 World Cup U20 edition, Spain, and the two-time champions, Portugal, failed to qualify.

CONCACAF was the next one to settle their representatives from CONCACAF U20 Championship last June-July in Honduras. Four teams finally secured their tickets for the 2023 edition. Shockingly, there was no favourite, Mexico. EL Tri was unable to join USA, Honduras, Guatemala and Dominican Republic to fly to Indonesia next year. This is their first failure in 14 years. The last time they missed the competition was in 2009.

Lastly, OFC has named their two teams to play in the upcoming tournaments. New Zealand is accompanied by Fiji who made their debut in 2015. For All Whites, the 2023 edition is their fourth times to participate. Their best result was going through the round of 16 in the previous edition.

The tournament itself is set to begin on May, 20 and ends on June, 11. There will be six venues to be used by the host nation stretching from Palembang in Sumatra Island to Gianyar in Bali. Here are the enlisted venues for World Cup U20 2023:

  • Gelora Bung Karno Stadium, Jakarta (capacity: 77,193 people)
  • Gelora Bung Tomo Stadium, Surabaya (45,134 people)
  • Gelora Sriwijaya, Palembang (23,000 people)
  • Jalak Harupat, Stadium, Bandung (27,000 people)
  • Manahan Stadium, Solo (20,000 people)
  • Kapten I Wayan Dipta Stadium, Gianyar (22,931 people)

World Cup U20 was first held in 1977. So far, Argentina holds the record of winning the most titles, six times. However, their last trophy was already more than 10 years ago, precisely in 2007 when Sergio Aguero was awarded the Golden Ball and Golden Boot. The reigning champion, Ukraine, sadly, will not participate either due to the ongoing Russian invasion.