After missing out hosting EURO 2020 due to their local authority's rejection on giving permission to stage games during the pandemic, UEFA has finally given Bilbao and Dublin hosting rights compensation for a number of continental finals in the future. The football governing body in Europe has also officially announced the year for Istanbul hosting rights for Champions League final after the double switch on the last minute.

According to the official schedule, Bilbao is set to stage two continental finals. The first one is the 2024 Women Champions League final and the second one is UEFA Europa League final in the following season. Those sporting events would be the first continental ones ever held in San Mames Stadium since its reopening in 2013. This stadium with the capacity of more than 53,000 spectators was build on the very same site of the old San Mames, which was first erected in 1913. Unlike the new one, the old San Mames was once hosting the second leg of UEFA Cup final in 1977 when Athletic Bilbao reached the summit in that edition facing off Juventus. At that time, the final was still in two-legged system. Furthermore, it was selected as one of the city hosts in World Cup 1982 and staged three matches. One of which was the classic clash England vs France.

Meanwhile, Dublin has been chosen for holding the 2024 Europa League final. This would be the second time for Aviva Stadium to stage the second tier of European competition. The first one took place in 2011 when there was the first ever all Portuguese final in continental competition. In that 2010/11 season, FC Porto under Andre Villas-Boas thumped Sporting Braga through a single winning goal by Radamel Falcao.

Last but not least, Atarturk Stadium, Istanbul, officially gains its hosting right for 2022/23 UEFA Champions League final after being delayed twice due to the surging case of COVID-19 in Turkey in 2020 and 2021 edition. The 2023 one was picked instead of this season as UEFA has named Krestovsky Stadium, Saint Petersburg to stage the final. Istanbul will be taking Munich's slot. Allianz Arena's hosting right is switched to 2024/25 season.

Here is the list of the official hosts for UEFA Champions League (UCL) and Europa League (EL) for the next four seasons:

2021/22: UCL - Kretovsky Stadium, St.Petersburg.

EL - Ramon Sanchez Pijzuan, Sevilla.

2022/23: UCL - Atarturk Stadium, Istanbul

EL - Puskas Arena, Budapest,

2023/24: UCL - Wembley Stadium, London.

EL - Aviva Stadium, Dublin

2024/25: UCL - Allianz Arena, Munich

EL - San Mames Stadium, Bilbao