The football in Tokyo Olympic Games 2021 is on the countdown for the kick off. Most of the teams have announced their final squad including the over aged players. Some big names such as Dani Alves, Real Madrid's Marco Asencio and the goalie Guillermo Ochoa are offically called up by Brasil, Spain and Mexico for this multisport event. The list of famous figures can go on with Florian Thauvin and Andre Pierre Gignac in France, Maya Yoshida in Japan and Burnley man Chris Woods in New Zealand. It even can add up later as Germany has not named their squad yet. It has been reported that Gladbach's skipper Lars Stindl could be included in the squad.

The squad in football olympic games can have 18 players U-23, including three over-aged names. Nevertheless, for Tokyo 2021, which is like any other summer tournaments, has been delayed for a year due to the world pandemic, each teams is allowed to have players U-24 plus the over-aged for 22 names in the squad. Yet, only 18 of them are available per match.

The football in Tokyo 2021 is bound to be exciting since the group stages as several favorites are seeded in the same group. In group A, the winner of 2012 edition Mexico is head-to-head with the champions in 1984 edition, France. In group C, the winner of 1992 Spain and two-time champions, Argentina are locking horns for the group leaders to avoid the previous gold-medal winner Brasil at the next stage. Selecao is bound to square off Germany in group D. No wonder that it resembles the mini World Cup.

Here are the complete names in the squad of favorites such as Brasil, Argentina, Spain and France.


Goalkeepers: Brenno, Santos*.

Defenders: Nino, Gabriel, Guilherme Arana, Gabriel Menino, Dani Alves*, Diego Carlos*.

Midfielders: Matheus Henrique, Bruno Guimaraes, Douglas Luiz, Gerson, Claudinho.

Forwards: Paulinho, Matheus Cunha, Antony, Pedro, Malcom.


Goalkeepers: Joaquin Blazquez, Lautaro Morales, Jeremías Ledesma*.

Defenders: Hernan de la Fuente, Marcelo Herrera, Nehuen Perez, Leonel Mosevich, Facundo Medina, Francisco Ortega, Claudio Bravo.

Midfielders: Fausto Vera, Santiago Colombatto, Tomas Belmonte, Martin Payero, Thiago Almada, Esequiel Barco.

Forwards: Carlos Valenzuela, Pedro de la Vega, Alexis Mac Allister, Agustin Urzi, Adolfo Gaich, Ezequiel Ponce.


Goalkeepers: Alex Dominguez, Alvaro Fernandes, Unai Simon.

Defenders: Eric Garcia, Juan Miranda, Oscar Mingueza, Oscar Gil, Pau Torres, Jesus Vallejo.

Midfielders: Pedri, Bryan Gil, Martin Zubimendi, Marc Cucurella, Jon Moncayola, Dani Olmo, Carlos Soler, Dani Ceballos, Mikel Merino, Marco Asensio.

Forwards: Javi Puado, Rafa Mir, Mikel Oyarzabal.


Goalkeepers: Paul Bernardoni, Stefan Bajic, Dimitry Bertaud

Defenders: Melvin Bard, Anthony Caci, Ismael Doukoure, Pierre Kalulu, Clement Michelin, Timothee Pembele, Modibo Sagnan.

Midfielders: Alexis Beka Beka, Jeremy Gelin, Enzo Le Fee, Teji Savanier*, Florian Thauvin*, Lucas Tousart.

Forwards: Andre-Pierre Gignac*, Randal Kolo Muani, Arnaud Nordin, Isaac Lihadji, Nathaniel Mbuku.

*over-aged players