Football in Olympic games 2020 has found its winner. The reigning champions Brasil finally defended their gold after thumping Spain in an exciting final at Yokohama Stadium. Andre Jardine’s side displayed their quality in this decisive match and throughout the tournament. They deserved their second gold in a row, which also equals to their long-standing contender, Argentina. They secured two consecutive gold medals as well in 2004 and 2008 edition.

The game started with high intensity as both sides were trading chances to break the deadlock. It was Selecao which took the first opportunity to open the scoring. Unfortunately, Richarlison failed to convert his penalty as the ball flew high. However, before the interval Hertha Berlin man, Matheus Cunha, tucked away the ball and gave them the lead. At the second half, Spain began to put more pressure to Daniel Alves and Co with some attempts from Bryan Gil and Mikel Oyarzabal only hitting the post and rattling the cross bar plus some strikes but denied by the Brasilian goalie. However, the equaliser finally came on 61st minute through Real Sociedad forward Mikel Oyarzabal taking advantage from the crossing from the left side of Brasilian defence. Both sides were knocking on the door again till the 90th minute. The game had to go through the extra time. Selecao eventually managed to score another one as the former Barcelona winger Malcolm penetrate La Furia Roja’s defence from the left flank and stroke the ball to the far side with a slight deflection from Unai Simon’s foot. It was an expected result for Brasil at the very same venue when Ronaldinho and Co won their last world cup final in 2002.

Brasil vs Spain 2-1

Goals: Matheus Cunha (45), Malcolm (108); Mikel Oyarzabal (61)

Brasil: Santos – Diego Carlos, Dani Alves, G Arana, Nino –  Bruno Guimares, Douglas Luiz – Claudinho (Reiner 106), Anthony (G Menino 112), Richarlison (Pauliho 114) – Matheus Cunha (Malcolm 91)

Spain: Unai Simon – Eric Garcia, Pau Torres, Marc Cucurella (Juan Miranda 91),  O Gil (Javier Vallejo 91) – Mikel Merino (Carlos Soler 46), Martin Zubimendi (Jon Moncayola 112), Pedri  - Dani Olmo, Marco Asencio (Bryan Gil 46), Mikel Oyarzabal (Rafa Mir 104)

In the third place play off, Mexico did not want to repeat the same mistake again against The Samurai Blues. The 1-2 defeat at the group stage and another one was 0-2 loss in 1968 third place game. It was the time when Japan won their first medal in football. This time El Sombrero rekindled the memory of 2012 semi final by dismantling the host 3-1. Francesco Cordova, Johan Vasquez and Ernesto Vega scored the winning goals. Japan only bagged a consolation goal through Kaoru Mitoma. It was another failure for Asian football, and more specifically Japan whose form had been degrading after hammering France 4-0. For Mexico, this bronze is surely a proof of their improvement compared to Rio 2016 but a setback compared to London 2012.