The final nominees for FIFA Puskas Award 2021 have been revealed this week. None of finalist happens to be from the same confederation although all goals took place in the top competitions in Europe.

Those three finalists are Erik Lamela’s rabona goal in the North London derby last season, Patrick Schick’s long shot from the half of the pitch in EURO 2020 game between Czech Republic and Scotland and Mehdi Taremi’s overhead kick in the Champions League knock out stage when his team, FC Porto was taking on Chelsea, the eventual champions. Each of them has different exceptional technique and has been highly appreciated long before those were short listed by FIFA last month.

These nominees will be voted by fans in FIFA website and a team of football legends to determine the level of difficulty as well as the aesthetic part of the goal scoring. The winner will be named on January, 17th at FIFA annual Best Award.

The FIFA Puskas Award is category for the best goal of the year in FIFA annual awards. It has been held since 2009 and none has been able to win more than once despite the fact that several star players have been nominated more than once. Lionel Messi holds the record of being nominated the most, for seven times but has never won it. His current team mate in PSG, Neymar, entails by being nominated for five times. Yet, unlike the Argentine talisman, the Brazilian playmaker did win in once in 2011 when he was still playing for Santos. Messi’s archrival, Cristiano Ronaldo, has more luck in this category. He was the winner of the first edition in 2009. The other famous forwards who have received this accolade are Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Olivier Giroud, James Rodriguez and Son Heung-Min.

The goals nominated for this award shall meet the requirements below:

  • The goal scoring process shall be aesthetically exceptional, from the overhead kick, scorpion kick, long-range strike, individual plays, rabona, team goals etc.
  • The goal scorer can not be nominated for two different goals in a year.
  • The goal shall not be the impact of deflection, the opposition’s mistakes, luck or offside position.
  • The goal scorer must support fair play.
  • The goals can be taken from any competition, regardless the gender, nationality and level of competition.

Here are the complete past winners of FIFA Puskas Award

2009 - Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United vs FC Porto in UCL 2009)

2010 - Hamit Altintop (Turkey vs Kazakhstan in EURO 2012 qualifiers)

2011 - Neymar (Santos vs Flamengo in Brasilian Serie A 2011)

2012 - Miroslav Stoch (Fenerbahce vs Genclerbirligi in Turkish Super Lig 2012)

2013 - Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden vs England in a friendly match)

2014 - James Rodriguez (Colombia vs Uruguay in World Cup 2014)

2015 - Wendell Lira (Goianesia vs Atletico Goaniense in Brazilian Goiano Championship 2015)

2016 - Mohd Faiz Subri (Penang vs Pahang in Malaysia Super League 2016)

2017 - Olivier Giroud (Arsenal vs Crystal Palace in EPL 2107)

2018 - Mo Salah (Liverpool vs Everton in EPL 2018)

2019 - Daniel Zsori (Debrecen vs Ferencvaros in Hungarian League 2019)

2020 - Son Heung-Min (Tottenham vs Burnley in EPL 2020)