The CONCACAF representative in this FIFA Club World Cup edition, Tigres of Mexico stunned the favorite at the semifinal, Copa Libertadores champions, Palmeiras as they defeated the Brasilian side 1-0. The match was quite even but it was Guido Pizzaro and Co who created more decent chances. At least Andre Pierre Gignac caused trouble for Weverton with his headers before he scored a winning goal through the penalty. It is the first time the CONCACAF club manages to progress to the final, whereas Abel Ferreira’s men’s loss this year marked South American clubs’ fifth failure to progress to the final after 2010, 2013, 2016 and 2018 editions. This recurring trend shall be CONMEBOL’s main concern to improve their clubs’ form in the future.

Palmeiras vs Tigres UANL 0-1

Goals: Andre Pierre Gignac (54)pen.

Palmeiras: Weverton – Danilo (P Carrero 56), G Menino (Willian 62), Jose Rafael (Felipe Melo 57), Gustavo Gomez –  L Garcia, Mathias Vina, Raphael Veiga (Gustavo Scarpa 73), Marcus Rocha (Mayke 72) – Luiz Adriano, Rony

Tigres UANL: Nehuel Guzman – C Gonzalez, Diego Reyes, Carlos Salcedo – Luis Quinones (Raymundo Fulgencio 87), Jesus Duenas (Paco Meza 86), Javier Aquino (Jordan Sierra 90), Guido Pizzarro – L Rodriguez, R Carioca, Andre Pierre Gignac.

Menawhile, the other favourite of the tounament Bayern Munich of UEFA, had no difficulty in getting past the African champions,  Al-Ahly. Die Roeten crushed the Egyptian side 2-0 by Robert Lewandowski’s brace. Manuel Neuer and Co are now aiming higher, securing their second title of FIFA Club World Cup.

Al-Ahly vs Bayern Munich 0-2

Goals: Robert Lewandowski (17),(80)

Al-Ahly: M Eshnawy – Afsha (A Dieng 70), A Maloul (Y Ibrahim 28),A Ashraf, A El-Shouila – Benoun, Fathi, El-Shahat (Mohsen 69), Kahraba (Bwalya 69) – M Hany, Mohamed ( Sherif 83)

Bayern Munich : Manuel Neuer – David Alaba, Jerome Boateng (Niklas Sule 77), Alphonse Davies, Benjamin Pavard  – Joshua Kimmich, Marc Roca (Corentin Tolisso 69) -Thomas Muller (Erick Chopo-Mouting 62), Serge Gnarby (Leroy Sane 62), Kingsley Coman (Jamal Musiala 77)  – Robert Lewandowski.