Guardiola's hope to guide Manchester City to win Champions League this season eventually failed, which means there is no new UCL winner yet. This European top tier competition somehow has still been in favour of the teams with UCL tradition, meaning only those who have won the title before, triumph since the UCL era in 1992/93 season. Surprisingly, the last new champion was Chelsea and Munchen, believe it or not, happens to be the constant venue for crowning the new champions. So, until the final is staged on Bavarian soil, it is rather unlikely to hope for the new one.

In addition, the glorious era of German manager in Champions League seems to carry on. Last night, Thomas Tuchel finally followed Jurgen Klopp's and Hans Flick's successs in the Champions League by winning it at the final. The Blues under Tuchel managed to thump Manchester City 1-0 in Estadio Do Dragao, Porto in the UCL 2020/21 final. A single goal by Kai Havertz was enough to secure a maximun result after the former Leverkusen man got past The Citizens' goalie on 42nd minute and buried the ball into the back of the net. Pep Guardiola's men attempted to break the deadlock to find the equaliser but Chelsea's solid defence frustrated Raheem Sterling and Co. The score remained the same leading to the Blues' second silverware in the European top flight since 2012.

Manchester City vs Chelsea 0-1

Goals: Kai Havertz (42)

Manchester City: Ederson – Ruben Dias, John Stones, Kyle Walker, Olexander Zichenko– Bernardo Silva (Fernandinho 64), Ilkay Gundogan, Phil Foden – Raheem Sterling (Sergio Aguero 77), Kevin De Bruyne (Gabi Jesus 60), Riyad Mahrez

Chelsea: Eduard Mendy –  Cesar Azpilicueta, Thiago Silva (Andreas Christensen 39), Antonio Rudiger – NGolo Kante, Jorginho, Reece James, Ben Chillwell  – Mason Mount (Mateo Kovacic 80), Timo Werner (Christian Pulisic 66), Kai Havertz

Meanwhile, in Europa League, Unai Emery once again showed his fortune and expertise in this tournament by clinching another title this year. This time with Villareal. His side won the final against Manchester United through penalties 12-11. They took the lead by Gerard Moreno's strike taking advantage of Dani Parejo's free kick on 29th minute before The Red Devils levelled the term by Edison Cavani's tap in front of the goal. The game went on but Marcus Rashford and Co had a difficulty to find the back of the net till 120 minutes. In the shoot out, all players from both sides were able to score till David De Gea's strike was denied by Geronimo Rulli, Villareal's second goalkeeper, after the Argentine slotted it home before. This is Emery's fourth title in his fifth finals and the first continental title for The Yellow Submarines.

Manchester United vs Villareal 1-1 (10-11)

Goals: Edison Cavani (55); Gerrard Moreno (29)

Man United: David De Gea – Victor Lindelof, Luke Shaw, Eric Bailly (Alex Tuanzebe 116), Aaron Wan Bissaka (Alex Telles 120) – Scott McTominay (Juan Mata 120), Paul Pogba (Daniel James 116), Bruno Fernandes, Marcus Rashford, Mason Greenwood (Fred 100) – Edison Cavani

Villareal: Geronimo Rulli - Pau Torres, Raul Albiol, Juan Foyth (Mario Gaspar 80), Alfonso Pedraza (Alberto Moreno 88) – Etienne Capou (Dani Raba 120), Dani Parejo, Manu Trigueros (Moi Gomez 77), Yeremi Pino (Paco Alcacer 77) – Carlos Bacca (Francis Conquelin 60), Gerard Moreno.