The 1989 Champions, Napoli, finally sealed one ticket to the next stage despite only mustering 1-1 draw against Real Sociedad at their home turf which has just been renamed as ‘Estadio Diego Armando Maradona’ on Tuesday. Il Partenopei took an early lead by the Poland international Pietro Zielinski. However, their prospective win was denied as William Jose bagged a late equaliser. Both sides eventually could get through since at the same time, their Dutch contender, AZ Alkmaar failed to clinch a win while taking on Rijeka on the road. They were dismantled 1-2.

Napoli vs Real Sociedad 1-1

Goals: Piotr Zielinski (35) William Jose (91)

Napoli: David Ospinna – Giovanni De Lorenzo, Kalidou Koulibaly, Mario Rui (Faiz Ghoulam 82), Nemanja Maksimovic – Fabian Ruiz, Timoue Bakayoko (Diego Demme 70), Piotr Zielinski (Eljif Elmas 74), Lorenzo Insigne, Hirving Lozano (Matteo Politano 70)  – Dries Mertens (Andrea Petagna 70)

Real Sociedad: Remiro – Igor Zubeldia, Joseba Zaldua (Andoni Gorosabel 46), Robin Le Normand (Aleksander Isak 78), Nacho Monreal (Aihan Munoz 78) – Mikel Merino, Ander Guevara ( Modibo Sagnan 78), Martin Zubimendi – Portu (Ander Barrenextea 56), Adnan Janusaj, William Jose.

On the contrary, the winners of 2002 edition, Feyenoord Rotterdam was unable to follow Napoli’s footsteps as they were surprisingly beaten 0-1 by Wolfsberger AC on the road. The winning goal of the Austrian side was scored by Dejan Joveljic. The result was not only positive for the home side but also lift them to the second of the table and advance to the next round. All of the 24 qualified teams plus 8 teams on the third of the table in the Champions League, which includes top teams such as Ajax Amsterdam and Manchester United again, will be drawn in the round of 32 earlier next week.

Wolfsberger AC vs Feyenoord 1-0

Goals: Dejan Joveljic (31)

Wolfsberger: Kofler – Lochoshvili, Novak, Baumgartner, Scherzer – Lietgeb, Mathaus Taferner (Nemanja Rnic 68), Sven Sprangler, Liendl – Dejan Joveljic (Elias Perretz 56), Dario Visinger ( Kai Stranzsig 83)

Feyenoord: Marsman – Tyler Malacia (Naufal Bannis 72), Uros Spajic ( Joao Teixera 79), Geertuida, Senesi – Toonstra, Kokcu, Diemers – Bryan Nilssen (Luis Sinistera 72), Nicolai Jorgensen,  Steven Berghuis.