The saying in English ‘third time lucky’ really comes true for England. Their third time reaching semifinal after the failure in 1968 and 1996 ended in a victory for Gareth Southgate’s men. They managed to thump popular underdog Denmark 2-1 at the semi final. They were one goal behind as Mikel Damsgaard buried from his powerful free kick on 30th minute. Luckily, the Three Lions could equalise nine minutes later from Simon Kjaer’s own goal. In this nail-biting affair, England had at least three shots on goal while Denmark only had one decent chance. Ladyluck finally smiles at Harry Kane and Co as they were given a rather ‘debatable’ penalty on 104th minute. The skipper himself slotted it home after the rebound from Schmeichel’s block. This is their first final in major tournament since 1966.

England vs Denmark 2-1

Goals: Simon Kjaer (o.g 39), Harry Kane (104); Mikel Damsgaard (30)

England: Jordan Pickford – Harry Maguire, John Stones, Kyle Walker, Luke Shaw – Mason Mount (Phil Foden 95), Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice (Jordan Henderson  95)  – Bukayo Saka (Jack Grealish 69 ) (Kieran Trippier 106) ), Harry Kane, Raheem Sterling.

Denmark: Kasper Schmeichel – Simon Kjaer, Jannik Vestergaard (Jonas Wind 105), Andreas Christiensen (Joachim Andersen 79) – Joakim Maehle, Pierre Hojberg, Jens Stryger Larsen (Daniel Wass 67), Thomas Delaney (Mathias Jensen 88) – Mikkel Damsgaard (Yussuf Poulsen 67), Kasper Dolberg (Christian Norgaard 88), Martin Braithwaite

Meanwhile, Italy had to go through penalties to overcome the challenge from Spain. They won 4-2 in a shoot out after mustering 1-1 draw till the extra time. Federico Chiesa scored an opener but Alvaro Morata came off the bench and bagged an equaliser to silence his critics once again. Unfortunately, the criticism eventually prevailed as he missed the penalty for the second time in the tournament. What a miserable turnover for the former Chelsea man. Roberto Mancini’s men progressed with the stroke of misfortune on Morata. This is their fourth finals in EURO after 1968, 2000 and 2012.

Italy vs Spain 1-1 (4-2)*

Goals: Federico Chiesa (60); Alvaro Morata (80)

Italy: Gianluigi Donnaruma – Giorgio Chiellini, Leonardo Bonucci, Giovanni de Lorenzo, Emerson (Rafael Toloi 74) – Jorginho, Nicolo Barella (Manuel Locatelli 85), Marco Verratti (Matteo Pessina 74)  – Federico Chiesa (Federico Bernadeschi 107), Ciro Immobile (Domenico Berrardi 61), Lorenzo Insigne (Andrea Belotti 85)

Spain: Unai Simon – Aymeric Laporte, Jordi Alba, Eric Garcia (Pau Torres 109), Cesar Azpilicueta (Marco Llorente 85) – Sergio Busquets (Thiago Alcantara 106), Koke (Rodri 70), Pedri – Dani Olmo, Mikel Oyarzabal (Gerrard Moreno 70), Ferran Torres (Alvaro Morata 62)