The final decision on the host cities for EURO 2020 final round next summer has been made at last. UEFA, with regrets, had to opt out two of them, Dublin and Bilbao, due to their local government's inability to guarantee the presence of fans inside the venue with the minimum number of 14,500 people. The European football governing body prefers not to stage the matches behind closed doors and unfortunately, the authorities in Ireland and Basque region have not been able to provide warranty on spectators attendance till the deadline on the 23rd of April.

Previously, there were four cities which had been in doubt of welcoming the fans into the stadium next summer, Dublin, Bilbao, Rome and Munich. Rome was already confirmed as the ninth city to allow the fans presence with the minimum 25 percent capacity last week while Munich has been finally included as the tenth host city of the tournament with 14,500 spectators. It was confirmed by the statement from DFB President, Fritz Keller.

"We look forward to great Euro 2020 matches in Munich — maybe even in front of an audience, if the pandemic’s development allows it."

Furthermore, regarding to the decision on ruling out of the Ireland capital and Basque city, UEFA has stated that the games which are supposed to be staged in those cities will be moved to different venues. The three matches at the group stage in Aviva Stadium shall be played in St.Petersburg instead. Those are as follows:

  • Poland vs Slovakia (14 June)
  • Sweden vs Slovakia (18 June)
  • Sweden vs Poland (23 June)

Whereas one game in the round of 16 on 29th June between the winner of group D against the runner up of group F will take place in Wembley.

Meanwhile, as San Mames's replacement, Estadio La Cartuja in Sevilla has been selected as the eleventh host cities since it can guarantee the 30,000 attendance inside. The whole group matches of La Furia Roja will be staged there plus one fixture in the round of 16. They are,

  • Spain vs Sweden (14 June)
  • Spain vs Poland (19 June)
  • Slovakia vs Spain (23 June)
  • Round of 16: 1B vs 3A/D/E/F (27 June)

The delayed EURO 2020 begins on the 11th June till 11th of July in 11 host cities, as the fate finally decides. The opening match will be taking place in Rome when the 1968 champions Italy is hosting the 2008 semifinalist, Turkey.