Glasgow Rangers were able to cancel out all German final in Europa League while Jose Mourinho aims for a new record in European competitions.

Glasgow Rangers has made a history by reaching their first European final since 2008 after smashing RB Leipzig 3-1 in the midweek. Giovanni Van Bronckhost’s men could overturn their 1-0 defeat in the reverse fixture to clinch the spot in the final. James Tavarnier opened the scoring followed by Glen Kamara’s six minutes later. The German side netted a lifeline on 70 minutes through Christopher Nkunku but their hope dashed in ten minutes after John Lundstram restored the two-goal lead for Gers. In the summit, they will be facing off Eintracht Frankfurt which eliminated West Ham in the semi final. They thumped The Hammers 1-0 through a single goal from Ansgar Knauff.

For Rangers, this is their fifth European finals after 1961, 1967, 1972 and 2008, all in the second tier continental competition. Their last one ended in a 2-0 defeat while taking on Zenit St.Petersburg. Their opposition, Frankfurt has just reached their third European finals after UCL/European Cup 1960 and Europa League/UEFA Cup 1980. They were hammered by Real Madrid in the former but managed to win over Gladbach on away goals rule in the latter. Both sides will be squaring off in Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan, Seville on 18th May.

Glasgow Rangers vs RB Leipzig 3-1 (Rangers won 3-2 on aggregate)

Goals: James Tavarnier (18), Glen Kamara (24), John Lundstram (80); Christopher Nkunku (70)

Glasgow Rangers: Alan McGregor – James Tavarnier, John Lundstram, Connor Goldson, Borna Barisic, Bassey – Ryan Jack (Leon Balogun 59), Scott Wright (Scott Arfield 59), Glen Kamara, Ryan Kent – Jo Aribo (Fashion Sakala 45)

RB Leipzig: Peter Gulacsi – Willi Orban, Josko Gvardiol, Lukas Klostermann– Kevin Kampl, Konrad Laimer, Benjamin Henrichs, Angelino (Marcel Halstenberg 81)  – Christopher Nkunku, Dani Olmo (Dominik Szoboslai 62), Yussuf Poulsen (Andre Silva 82)

In the meantime, Jose Mourinho is eyeing for a new record after leading AS Roma to go through the Conference League final after kicking out Leicester City by a 1-0 win in the midweek. The Englishman Tammy Abraham netted a winning goal through his header. The Portuguese boss guided his team advance to the final by 2-1 win on aggregate. In the final, Giallorossi will be taking on Feyenoord which knocked out Marseille 3-2 on aggregate. It will be staged in Arena Kombetare, Tirana on May 25.

Roma’s success to reach the final means a lot for them as it is their first final since 1991. It even means a lot more for Mourinho. The former Spurs manager bounces back after his failure in EPL and is on the verge of creating a new record, as the third coach who could lift the trophy in all major UEFA competitions after Giovanni Trappatoni and Udo Latek. Mourinho has won Champions League twice with Porto in 2004 and Inter Milan in 2010, plus Europa League twice in 2003 with Porto and 2017 with Manchester United. His predecessors, Mr. Trap won all three (Champions League, UEFA Cup Winners Cup and UEFA Cup) while he was in charge of Juventus. The former Ireland boss won UCL in 1985, Winners Cup in 1984 plus UEFA Cup in 1993 and 1991 (with Inter Milan). Previously, the German coach, Udo Lattek did it with Bayern in UCL 1974, followed by Winners Cup 1982 with Barcelona plus UEFA Cup 1979 with Gladbach.