Rossoneri and Nerazzurri are still neck to neck at the top of the Serie A standings last weekend after the winter break. Milan kept his position after trashing Benevento 2-0 on the road. Frank Kessie’s penalty and Rafael Leao bagged the winning goals. They could have scored more goals if Hakan Cahanoglu’s and Frank Kessie’s long range strike had not hit the post. They have collected thirty seven points or just one point away from their local contender, Inter Milan. Antonio Conte’s men dismantled Crotone 6-2 at their home turf. Lautaro Martinez netted his first hattrick for his club followed by Luca Marrone’s own goal, Romelu Lukaku’s and Achraf Hakimi’s goal, which overturned the visitor’s lead by Niccolo Zanellato’s header plus Vladimir Golemic’s penalty.

Benevento vs AC Milan 0-2

Goals: Franck Kessie (15), Rafael Leao (49)

Benevento: Montipo – Gaetano Letizia (Riccardo Improta 39), Alessandro Tuia, Kamil Glik, Barba – Ionita, Pasquale Schiattarella, Perparim Hatemaj (Gabriele Moncini 46) – Roberto Insigne (Marco Sau 82), Gianluca Caprari (Guiseppe Di Serio 81) – Gianluca Papadula.

AC Milan: Gianluigi Donnarumma – Davide Calabria (Andrea Conti 81), Alessio Romagnoli, Diego Dalot, Simon Kjaer (Pierre Kyatengwa 81) – Sandro Tonali, Franck Kessie, Brahim Diaz (Rade Krunic 36), Ante Rebic (Samu Castillejo 71), Hakan Calhanoglu  – Rafael Leao.

Meanwhile, in La Liga, Atletico Madrid still manages to keep the throne after sealing a narrow 2-1 win over Alaves on the road. Marcos Llorente and Luis Suarez found the back of the net, while the home side could only reply once by Felipe Maniero. Diego Simeone’s men are now collecting thirty eight points, only two points different from Los Blancos but with two game less. Karim Benzema and Co secured a fairly easy 2-0 win over Celta Vigo. Their two academy products, Lucas Vasquez and Marco Asencio netted the winning goals.

Deportivo Alaves vs Atletico Madrid 1-2

Goals: Felipe o.g (84) ; Marcos Llorente (41), Luis Suarez (90)

Alaves: Pacheco – Javier Lopez (Adrian Marin 88), Victor Languardia, Florian Lejeune, Aguirregabiria –  Jota, Edgar Mendez (Lucas Perez 75), Borja Sainz (Luis Rioja 68), Manu Garcia (Tachi 68), Battaglia – Deyverson (Joselu 75)

Atletico Madrid: Jan Oblak  – Felipe (Renand Lodi 87), Carlos Hermoso, Jose Gimenez – Sime Vrsaljko, Yannick Carrasco (Saul Niguez 82), Koke, Thomas Lemar, Marcos Llorente – Angel Correa (Joao Felix 62), Luis Suarez.