After a number of controversies, from a lurking boycott to cancellation over the tournament's future, Copa America 2021 is set to officially begin this weekend. Such will be marked with the encounter of Brasil and Venezuela as the opening match. The boycott threats from Selecao players plus Tite and possible halt from the Supreme Court eventually did not capitalise eventhough three major sponsors, Mastercard, drink company Ambev and alchohol drink Diageo have officially decided to pull out.

Casemiro and Co's plan to walk out of this regional competition failed as there was no agreement in the end, especially regarding the other teams' decision. Argentina even already confirmed their participation despite being concerned with the surging COVID-19 case in Brasil up to 480,000 death toll. Selecao themselves made the same as their archrival's on the following day. Furthermore, Brasilian Supreme Court has reportedly overruled the decision to host the tornament as well. The government and CBF as the supporting party of such plan are only ordered to provide additional procedures for health and safety.

“It falls to (state governors and mayors) to set the appropriate health protocols and ensure they are respected in order to avoid a ‘Copavirus,’ with new infections and the emergence of new variants,” stated Judge Carmen Lucia.

Now that it is officially on, despite the objection, the teams have announced their 28-man final squad. As suggested, there are some more regulation regarding the players. Such are replacing any injured players maximum a day before the first match and calling up a new figure, including a goalkeeper due to injuries or being tested positive of coronavirus during the tournament. Here are the final squad of two classic favorites, the host Brasil and their archrival Argentina.


Goalkeepers: Alisson (Liverpool), Ederson (Manchester City), Weverton (Palmeiras)

Defenders: Emerson (Barcelona), Danilo, Alex Sandro (Juventus), Renan Lodi, Felipe (Atletico Madrid), Éder Militão (Real Madrid), Marquinhos (Paris Saint-Germain), Thiago Silva (Chelsea)

Midfielders: Casemiro (Real Madrid), Douglas Luiz (Aston Villa), Everton Ribeiro (Flamengo), Fabinho (Liverpool), Fred (Manchester United), Lucas Paquetá (Lyon)

Forwards: Everton (Benfica), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Gabriel Barbosa (Flamengo), Gabriel Jesus (Manchester City), Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain), Richarlison (Everton), Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid)


Goalkeepers: Franco Armani (River Plate), Emiliano Martínez (Aston Villa), Agustín Marchesín (Porto) and Juan Musso (Udinese)

Defenders: Gonzalo Montiel (River), Nicolás Otamendi (Benfica), Germán Pezzella, Lucas Quarta (Fiorentina), Nicolás Tagliafico, Lisandro Martínez (Ajax), Marcos Acuña (Sevilla), Cristian Romero (Atalanta), Nahuel Molina (Udinese).

Midfielders: Leandro Paredes, Ángel Di María (Paris Saint-Germain), Guido Rodríguez (Betis), Giovani Lo Celso (Tottenham), Exequiel Palacios (Bayer Leverkusen), Nicolás González (Stuttgart), Rodrigo De Paul (Udinese), Alejandro Gómez (Sevilla), Ángel Correa (Atletico Madrid), Nicolás Domínguez (Bologna)

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Lautaro Martínez (Inter Milan), Joaquín Correa (Lazio), Lucas Alario (Bayer Leverkusen) and Sergio Agüero (Barcelona)

And here is the complete match schedule:

Group A: Argentina, Bolivia, Uruguay, Chile, Paraguay

Group B:Kolombia, Brasil, Venezuela, Ekuador, Peru

13/06/2021  B Brasil vs Venezuela

13/06/2021  B Kolombia vs Ekuador

14/06/2021  A Argentina vs Chile

14/06/2021  A Paraguay vs Bolivia

17/06/2021 B Kolombia vs Venezuela

17/06/2021 B Peru vs Brasil

18/06/2021  A Chile vs Bolivia

18/06/2021 A Argentina vs Uruguay

20/06/2021 B Venezuela vs Ekuador

20/06/2021 B Kolombia vs Peru

21/06/2021 A Uruguay vs Chile

21/06/2021 A Argentina vs Paraguay

23/06/2021 B Ekuador vs Peru

23/06/2021 B Kolombia vs Brasil

24/06/2021 A Bolivia vs Uruguay

24/06/2021 A Chile vs Paraguay

27/06/2021 B Ekuador vs Brasil

27/06/2021 B Venezuela vs Peru

28/06/2021 A Argentina vs Bolivia

28/06/2021 A Uruguay vs Paraguay

Quarter finals:

02/07/2021 QF 1 (2nd place B vs 3rd place A)

02/07/2021 QF 2 (1st place B vs 4th place A)

03/07/2021 QF 3 (2nd place A vs 3rd place B)

03/07/2021 QF 4 (1st place A vs 4th place B)


05/07/2021 SF 1 (winner QF 1 vs winner QF 2)

06/07/2021 SF 2 (winner QF 4 vs winner QF 3)

09/07/2021 3rd Play-off (loser SF 2 vs loser SF 1)

10/07/2021 Final (winner SF 2 vs winner SF 1)