CAF finally comes to agreements on the date of players release in England earlier this week for African Cup of Nations 2022 after the potential rejection.

African football governing body, CAF, was eventually the party which stepped forward to end the possible feud between them and Premier League regarding the release date for the players in the Premier League and Championships. Previously, CAF objected the EPL clubs' request on releasing their African players to join the national team for the 2022 on January, 3rd. However, CAF held on to the rule by FIFA stating that any internationals players shall be made available for national team call-up on December 27th since the tournament begins on January 9th.

However, there was an interesting turning point when FIFA handed over the letter to World League Forum. CAF had decided to allow European clubs, especially Premier League to play for them until January. Such is definitely a good news for Manchester City, Liverpool and Chelsea who are counting on their African stars in this season's title race. Meanwhile, Tottenham, Newcastle, Norwich and Leeds United which have no African players at all in the squad could take advantage while facing off the teams whose key men are absent.

Unfortunately, it has been reported that some clubs are still not keen on granting their permission to their players for this regional competition. Watford, for example, is considering to prevent Emmanuel Dennis to AFCON, Wolves has already decided to keep Willy Boly in the squad while Manchester United recalled their Ivorian defender Eric Baily after leaving UK earlier as he would be needed to cover Victor Lindelof. The Sweden international is currently in isolation due to covid-19 contraction. Therefore, it remains to be seen who will be actually released for the tournament which ends on February, 6th.

African Cup of Nations 2022 is contested in Cameroon. Originally, it was staged in January 2021 but delayed because of the world pandemic. There are six venues to hold the tournament in five cities, Yaounde, Douala, Bafoussam, Garoua, and Limbe. Here are the qualified nations at the group stage.

Grup A: Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Ethiopia

Grup B: Senegal, Guinea, Malawi, Zimbabwe

Grup C: Morocco, Ghana, Gabon, Comoros

Grup D: Nigeria, Egypt, Guinea-Bissau, Sudan

Grup E: Algeria, Cote Ivorie, Sierra Leone, Guinea Equatorial

Grup F: Tunisia, Gambia, Mali, Mauritania

Here are the players in EPL and EFL called-up for AFCON:


  • James Lea Siliki (Middlesbrough)


  • Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)
  • Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
  • Seny Dieng (Queens Park Rangers)
  • Cheikhou Kouyate (Crystal Palace, England)
  • Nampalys Mendy (Leicester City)
  • Ismaila Sarr (Watford)


  • Said Benrahma (West Ham)
  • Riyadh Mahrez (Man City)


  • Moussa Djenepo (Southampton)

Burkina Faso

  • Bertrand Traore (Aston Villa)


  • Naby Keita (Liverpool)


  • Pierre Aubameyang (Arsenal)
  • Ulrick Eneme Ella (Brighton)


  • Mahmoud “Trezeguet” Hassan (Aston Villa)
  • Mo Salah (Liverpool)
  • Mohammed Elneny (Arsenal)


  • Joseph Wolacott (Swindon Town)
  • Thomas Partey (Arsenal)
  • Daniel Amartey (Leicester)
  • Baba Abdul Rahman (Reading FC)
  • Andy Yiadom (Reading FC)
  • Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace)


  • Tivonge Rushesha (Swansea)
  • Jordan Zemura (Bournemouth)
  • Marvelous Nakamba (Aston Villa)
  • Macauley Bonne (Charlton)
  • Admiral Muskwe (Leicester City)

Ivory Coast

  • Maxwel Cornet (Burnley)
  • Jean Michael Seri (Fulham)
  • Nicolas Pepe (Arsenal)
  • Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace)


  • Romain Saiss (Wolverhampton)
  • Adam Masina (Watford)
  • Ilias Chair (QPR)
  • Imran Louza (Watford)


  • Alex Iwobi (Everton FC)
  • Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City)
  • Winfred Ndidi (Leicester)
  • William Ekong (Watford FC)