Spain has proposed 15 stadiums to be selected for World Cup 2030 bid alongside Portugal, surprisingly without Sevilla’s Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan on the list.

Spain football federation, RFEF, has shortlisted the 15 venues in Spain to be included in World Cup 2030 bid along with Portugal, which is likely to propose three stadiums. However, not all of them will be selected by FIFA for the tournament. There will only be 11 of them, which makes 14 venues in total for Spain-Portugal 2030. Their bid, which has been launched since June 2021 and gained more support from UEFA rather than UK-Ireland one, will be facing off a stiff competition from their Latino counterparts in South America. The quartet in Southern Cone, Argentina-Uruguay-Chile-Paraguay, has announced their bid as well aiming for the centenarian celebration in the same spot where it all began.

Most of those 15 stadiums were also included in World Cup 1982, the last time Spain hosted major tournament, except six venues, Sevilla’s Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan, Real Beti’s Benito Villamarin, Real Valladolid’s Jose Zorilla, Elche’s Estadio Manuel Martinez Valero, Hercules Alicante’s Jose Rico Perez and Real Oviedo’s Carlos Tartiere. They were all used for that tournament. The most surprising one is surely the exclusion of Sevilla FC’s home turf and Villareal’s La Ceramica from the list. The former had staged two games in 1982 World Cup, including the one of the most exciting matches in the history, Germany vs France, at the semifinal, and two European finals, European Cup/Champions League 1986 and Europa League 2022. The latter is set to undergo renovation this year.

The reason behind this decision might be due to the fact that the city of Sevilla has been represented by Estadio La Cartuja. It has been the regular venue to host Copa del Rey Finals in the past few seasons, plus hosted several games in EURO 2020. Meanwhile, Villareal’s home base is not included since its too low capacity, which can only hold 23,500 spectators, despite the fact that The Yellow Submarines managed to reach the semi final twice in Champions League and won Europa League in 2021.

Here are the list of 15 proposed stadiums in Spain:

  • Cam Nou, Barcelona (capacity: 99,354 people)
  • Santiago Bernabeu, Madrid (81,044)
  • Metropolitano Stadium, Madrid (68,456)
  • RCDE Stadium, Cornella El Prat (40,000)
  • Estadio Riazor, La Coruna (32,660)
  • San Mames, Bilbao (53,331)
  • La Romareda, Zaragoza (33,608)
  • Nuevo Mestalla, Valencia (49,430)
  • La Rosaleda, Malaga (30,044)
  • La Cartuja, Sevilla (57,619)
  • Estadio Anoeta, San Sebastian (37,066)
  • Estadio Gran Canaria, Las Palmas (32,400)
  • El Molinon Enrique Castro Quini, Gijon (29,029)
  • Nueva Condomina, Murcia (31,179)
  • Estadio Balaidos, Vigo (29,000)

Meanwhile, the three most likely stadiums proposed in Portugal, although yet confirmed are

  • Estadio Da Luz, Lisbon (66,147)
  • Estadio Jose Avalade, Lisbon (50,095)
  • Estadio Dragao, Porto (50,033)

The venues which can only accommodate less than 40,000 spectators must be expanded to meet FIFA’s requirements, meaning that about a half of those shortlisted stadium in Spain’s proposal are bound to undergo renovation. For the final, two biggest stadiums, Camp Nou and Bernabeu, are definitely the candidates to hold the final since the minimum capacity for hosting this stage is 80,000 people.